Judicial Nomination Commission

The Judicial Nomination Commission is responsible for reviewing applicants to empty judicial positions.

Hal Harper
1608 Gold Rush Avenue
Helena, MT 59601

Appointed by: Governor
Term ending: 1/1/2019
Janice Bishop
532 South Avenue East
Missoula, MT 59801

Appointed by: Governor
Term ending: 1/1/2020
Hon. John C. Brown
Law & Justice Center, Room 202
615 South 16th Avenue
Bozeman, MT 59715

Elected by: District Court Judges
Term ending: 12/31/2020
Lane Larson
1417 Cedar Canyon Road
Billings, MT 59101

Appointed by: Governor
Term ending:01/01/2021
Elizabeth A. Halverson
1302 24th Street West #393
Billings, MT 59102

Appointed by: Supreme Court
Term ending: 01/01/2021
Karl J. Englund
401 North Washington Street
P.O. Box 8358
Missoula, Montana 59807

Appointed by: Supreme Court
Term ending: 12/31/2019
Nancy Zadick
1901 Whispering Ridge Drive
Great Falls, MT 59405

Appointed by: Governor
Term ending: 01/01/2022
Beth McLaughlin
P.O. Box 203005
Helena, MT 59620-3005

Term: 4 years

4 - Lay members appointed by governor (non-judicial, non-attorney)
1 - Elected by the district judges
2 - Appointed by the Montana Supreme Court

Composed of: seven members, four lay members from different geographical areas of the state who are appointed by the Governor; two attorneys appointed by the Supreme Court (one from that part of the state that is composed of judicial districts 1 through 5, 9, 11, and 18 through 21; and one from that part of the state that is composed of judicial districts 6 through 8, 10, and 12 through 17); and one district judge who is elected by the district judges. Commission members serve a four-year term and are not eligible for nomination to a judicial office during their term on the commission or for one year thereafter.

Rules of the Judicial Nomination Commission

Twenty-First Judicial District Judgeship Vacancy
(Ravalli County)

  1. Notice of vacancy from Chief Justice
  2. Nomination and appointment schedule
  3. News release soliciting applications
  4. Application form
  5. Applications and writing samples
  6. News release soliciting public comment
  7. Public comment (Please note: Public comment received after June 18, 2018, will be posted after July 2, 2018.)